Syria’s people deserve our protection

LCID’s statement on the chemical attack by the Syrian regime in Idlib.
>> Add your name by clicking here. <<

We believe civilian protection should be at the heart of the UK’s foreign policy. The UK is a signatory to the UN’s Responsibility to Protect civilians agreement, and it is time for that to be recognised. Where a government is responsible for mass murder, genocide or war crimes, the international community has a clear obligation to intervene, choosing timely and decisive action from a wide range of approaches, including diplomatic means, sanctions and in the most extreme cases, military operations.

The horrific chemical weapons attack in Idlib, undeniably committed by the Syrian regime, is yet another act of barbarity in the conflict which shows no sign of ending. For too long, the international community has stood back and done nothing, whilst hundreds of thousands of people have been killed, tortured, or forced to flee their homes.

The US. missile strikes on a Syrian government airbase should only be the start of a wider and coherent strategy to protect civilians, and ultimately to help Syrians to establish a democratic, free and socially just country. In the short term, an internationally-led no-fly zone should be set up in Idlib province as soon as possible to prevent further civilian deaths. In addition, whilst DFID’s support for refugees in Lebanon and Jordan is welcome, we, and other European countries, must take our fair share of Syrian refugees too, something this Government has so far failed to do.

Where chemical weapons are used, and where civilians are harmed, we must demonstrate to the perpetrators that such actions will not be tolerated. Inaction has consequences too, and we cannot allow the slaughter to continue, and that is why we support immediate action to prevent further atrocities.

Signed by;
Rachel Reeves MP, LCID Co-President
Alison McGovern MP, LCID VP
Gareth Thomas MP, LCID VP
Ivan Lewis MP, LCID VP
Lord Jack McConnell, LCID VP
Stephen Doughty MP, LCID VP
Angela Smith MP
Ann Coffey MP
Anna Turley MP
Ben Bradshaw MP
Chris Leslie MP
David Lammy MP
Emma Reynolds MP
Jim Dowd MP
John Woodcock MP
Julie Ward MEP
Liz Kendall MP
Luciana Berger MP
Margaret Hodge MP
Maria Eagle MP
Mary Creagh MP
Michael Dugher MP
Mike Gapes MP
Neil Coyle MP
Rosena Allin-Khan MP
Ruth Smeeth MP
Stella Creasy MP
Steve Reed MP
Tracy Brabin MP
Virendra Sharma MP
Wes Streeting MP

Dominic Breslin Warrington North CLP
Caroline Hibbs
Kevin Peel Manchester Central CLP
Cllr Emma Hoddinott Wentworth & Dearne CLP
Roger Sturge Bristol NW CLP
Simon Beresford Ealing and Acton Central CLP
Katie Curtis Hornsby & Wood Green CLP
Nicky Stubbs Barnsley East CLP
William Tricker Wimbledon CLP
James Austin Hornsey and Wood Green CLP
Tom Corcoran Vauxhall CLP
Bridget Frear Wallasey CLP
Ann Hogan Wallasey CLP
Claire Leigh Vauxhall
Bryan Kelly Stoke North CLP
Sonia Alani Hammersmith CLP
Curtis Myers Liverpool
Connor Cunningham Renfrewshire South CLP
Gary Pepworth Thornbury and Yate CLP
Laura Hutchinson Streatham CLP
Glen Mehn
Graeme Burrell Clacton
Cate Tuitt Bethal Green & Bow CLP
Marcus Tuitt Bethal Green & Bow CLP
Zara Ali
Miriam Rice Ealing North CLP
Sheila Franklin Macclesfield CLP
Adam Foster Scunthorpe CLP
Wendy Martin Rotherham CLP
Michelle Jamal
Cllr Steve wilson Sheffield Hallam CLP
Cllr Mark Allison Mitcham and Morden CLP
Jeremy Cohen Walthamstow CLP
Robert Williams Wealden CLP
Abigail Harvey
Matt Goddin Ilford North CLP
Ian Blades Middlesbrough South & East Cleveland CLP
Mike Foster West Worcester CLP
Cllr Steve Wilson Sheffield Hallam CLP
Joe Oliver Exeter CLP
Isobel Dugher Doncaster Central CLP
John D Turner Birmingham Perry Barr CLP
Rose Grayston Croydon Central CLP
Jeremy Latham Walthamstow CLP
Councillor Carole Bonner Croydon Central CLP
Peter Smith Croydon Central CLP
Mary Gregory St Helens North CLP
Kevin O’Grady Mid Norfolk CLP
James Greer
Patricia Ferguson Glasgow Maryhill & Springburn CLP
Cllr Paul Williams Milton Keynes South CLP
Fiona Gordon Swansea West CLP
Roshni Fernando Croydon Central CLP
Maxine Gordon Dulwich and Norwood CLP
Louis Nyman East Hampshire CLP
Jack Lister Salford & Eccles CLP
Sarah Kirby Tooting CLP
Joan Ryan MP Enfield North CLP
Annette Dunne
James A Beckles West Ham CLP
Ken Penton West Ham CLP
Alex Cheney Beckenham CLP
Christopher Rushworth City of Durham CLP
Khadija Kayani
Emma Hall
Barry Gilheany Colchester CLP
Sarah Jones Croydon Central CLP
Cornelia Bower Walthamstow CLP
Gerry Friell Walthamstow CLP
Alison Cox Walthamstow CLP
Richard Crowther Penistone and Stocksbridge CLP
Richard Honey West Leeds CLP
Joe Godden Tatton CLP
Rebecca Tinsley Chelsea and Westminster CLP
Dominic McGinley Dunfermline CLP
Daniel Stanley Walthamstow
Adrian Taylor
Alan Featherstone Wigan CLP
Joseph Renny Croydon Central CLP
Mark Boothroyd Camberwell and Peckham CLP
Martin Angus Croydon Central CLP
Daniel Stanley Walthamstow
Stephen Collings Hammersmith and Fulham
Marian O’Regan Belfast
Laura Ilford North
Miranda Stephenson
Jean Pownceby Bootle
Stephen Mendel Dalston
Mike Sleeth Wirral South
Leo Gibbons-Plowright Lewisham Deptford CLP
William Cooper Lewisham Deptford CLP
John J. Lindsley Kingston & Surbiton
Mick Carney Sunderland Central
Councillor Varinder Singh Bola Ilford South
Sarah-Jane Ketterer
Edie Fairservice Croydon Central CLP

One thought on “Syria’s people deserve our protection

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s